DIRECTORS

kwinterKari J. Winter, PhD
Director of the Gender Institute
Professor of Transnational Studies
College of Arts and Sciences
kwinter2@buffalo.edu
716-645-0827

Research Interests: American literature and history; slavery and resistance in the Atlantic World; gender, race, and class. Faculty Page
 

 

kwinterGlenna Bett, PhD   
Deputy Director of the Gender Institute
Vice Chair for Research in Obstetrics and Gynecology
Physiology and Biophysics
bett@buffalo.edu
716-829-2603

Research Interests: Bioinformatics; Ion channel kinetics and structure; Molecular and Cellular Biology. Faculty Page
 

 

 

 

STAFF

Becky Burke
Gender Institute Staff Assistant
207 UB Commons
rburke2@buffalo.edu
716-645-5200

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

kwinterTina Žigon
Gender Institute Graduate Assistant
PhD Candidate, English
tzigon@buffalo.edu
716-645-5200

Research Interests: Feminism, gender and transgender studies and literatures, contemporary women writers.

 

 





EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

SBCSharmistha Bagchi-Sen, PhD  
Professor
Dept. of Geography, College of Arts and Sciences
Past Co-Director, Gender Institute 2009-10
geosbs@buffalo.edu
716-645-0478


Research Interests: Urban and Regional Analysis; International Business: Foreign Direct Investment; High Technology and Regional Innovation; Biotechnology and Pharmaceutical Sectors; Labor and Societal Impacts of Information Technology; Labor Market and the Aging Workforce. Faculty Page

 

JoanBazierJoan S. Baizer, PhD  
Associate Professor
Dept. of Physiology, School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences
Baizer@buffalo.edu
716-829-3096

Research Interests: the comparative neuroanatomy of the brain with a focus on the brainstem and cerebellum; the evolution of the brain underlying uniquely human cognitive and motor skills; individual differences in brain structure and function, including differences related to gender. Faculty Page


LingBianLaina Y. Bay-Cheng, PhD 
Associate Professor
School of Social Work
lb35@buffalo.edu
716-645-1225

Research Interests: the construction of adolescent sexuality; the cultivation of young women's sexual subjectivity, gendered power; youth empowerment; feminist theories and methods. Faculty Page

 


BBonoBarbara Bono, PhD  
Associate Professor
Dept. of English, College of Arts and Sciences
Past Co-Director, Gender Institute 2003-06
bbono@buffalo.edu
716-645-0713

Research Interests: Early Modern British literature, especially Sidney, Spenser, and the dramatic literature of Shakespeare and his contemporaries; feminist and cultural materialist theory and history. Faculty Page

 

LingBianHadar Borden 
Administrative Director
Undergraduate Academies
hborden@buffalo.edu
716-645-8177

B.A. and M.A. from UB in Geography with a concentration in International Business and World Trade; 2012 recipient of the State University of New York Chancellor’s Award in Professional Service; engaged in student recruitment and advisement.

 

 

GBursteinGale R. Burstein, MD
Erie County Health Commissioner   
Clinical Professor
Dept. of Pediatrics, School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences;
gburstein@upa.chob.edu
716-878-7015

Research Interests: Adolescent Medicine - Pediatrics; providing adolescents with confidential sexual health services; health policy at the state and national level. Faculty Page

 

SDarrowSherri L. Darrow, PhD  
Director
Wellness Education Services, Student Affairs
darrow@buffalo.edu
716-645-6936

Research Interestes: chronic disease epidemiology; health promotion related to alcohol, tobacco and other drugs, sexual violence prevention, nutrition, stress management and outreach to underserved groups including LGBTQ students, veterans and international students. Faculty Page


RDziakRosemary Dziak, PhD  
Professor
Dept. of Oral Biology, School of Dental Medicine
Past Director, Gender Institute  2005-11
rdziak@buffalo.edu
716-829-3827

Research Interests:  Bone cell physiology; isolation and culturing of human osteoblastic cells; signal transduction mechanisms related to proliferation and differentiation of bone cells; tissue engineering; design of new materials for bone regeneration. Faculty Page

 

 

Phyllis Floro  
Associate Director
Student Life, Intercultural & Diversity Center and
Center for Student Leadership & Community Engagement
floro@buffalo.edu
716-645-2731

Phyllis was born and raised in Niagara Falls, NY and earned her Bachelor Degree in Communication from the University at Buffalo in 2002, as well as her Master’s in Higher Education Administration in 2005.    In 1999, she began her professional career at UB with six years in the Student Life Office as Student Unions Coordinator followed by four years in New Student Programs as Assistant Director of Orientation and First Year/Transfer Student Programs.  Since February of 2009, Phyllis has been the Associate Director of the Student – Intercultural & Diversity Center.  In August of 2012, Phyllis’ administrative duties Lifewere expanded when she was appointed to be the Associate Director for Student Life’s Center for Student Leadership & Community Engagement, as well as the Intercultural & Diversity Center.

 

RDziakRebecca French, JD, LL.M, PhD  
Professor
School of Law
rrfrench@buffalo.edu
716-645-2159

Research Interests: The intersections of law, anthropology, legal theory, religious studies and Buddhist legal systems; immigration and cultural issues in Tibet and Indonesia. Faculty Page

 

 

RDziakKelly Hayes McAlonie, AIA, LEED
Interim Associate Vice Provost
UB Capital Planning Group
kmhayesm@buffalo.edu

Kelly Hayes McAlonie, AIA, LEED AP is the Interim Director of the Capital Planning Group at the University at Buffalo and Immediate Past President of the American Institute of Architects New York State. Kelly has dedicated her profession to educational architecture. She previously was Associate Vice President of Cannon Design, where she served in their Education Practice. In 2011, she co-curated with her husband Brian McAlonie the first exhibit in 25 years on Louise Bethune, America’s first woman architect, at the Buffalo History Museum. She has written widely on Bethune for over ten years. In 2012 she was the recipient of the AIANYS Del Gaudio Award and in 2011 she won the EB Green Distinguished Service Award from AIA Buffalo/WNY. In 2008 she was a recipient of the American Institute of Architect’s National Young Architects Award and in 2006 she won the Young Architect of the Year Award in AIA Buffalo/WNY.

 

lmanganLaura Mangan 
Coordinator 
Civic Engagement & Public Policy
A UB 2020 Academic and Strategic Strength
lmangan@buffalo.edu
716-645-5376

Laura Mangan has been facilitating, administering, publishing, and promoting interdisciplinary research in areas of law and social justice since the 1980s.  After studying African history at the University of Sussex, she served as founding managing editor of the South African Journal on Human Rights and managing editor of Law & Policy. She worked in South Africa for seven years on issues of human rights and public impact litigation as Assistant Director of the Centre for Applied Legal Studies, University of the Witwatersrand School of Law.   After moving to Buffalo, she became founding staff member of the Buffalo Human Rights Center and Canada-US Legal Studies Centre in UB's Law School, then Associate Director of UB's Baldy Center for Law and Social Policy.  She currently coordinates UB's Civic Engagement and Public Policy research initiative (CEPP), which supports local to global community-based research by UB faculty on issues of social justice and equity. 

 

IMarcusIsabel Marcus, JD, PhD  
Professor
School of Law
Founding Co-Director, Gender Institute  1997-2003
imarcus@buffalo.edu
716-645-2108

Dr. Marcus, Professor of Law and Director of International and Graduate Programs at the UB Law School, was one of the founders of the Institute for Research and Education on Women and Gender. Her longstanding research interests are in the areas of family law, domestic violence, international women's human rights, and, currently a comparative analysis of the implementation of law regarding domestic violence in Eastern Europe and the former Soviet Union. Faculty Page

 

IMarcusLorraine Oak, PhD  
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Geography
Associate Dean for Research Administration
Chair, Canadian-American Studies Committee
loak@buffalo.edu
716-645-2711

Dr. Oak, Associate Dean for Research Administration and Adjunct Assistant Professor of Geography, is also the Chair of the Canadian-American Studies Committee. With degrees from the University of Alberta and Macquarie University in Sydney, Australia, Dr. Oak is an international scholar with a longstanding commitment to feminism, the environment, and equal rights, both through her service to the Gender Institute as well as the University at large.

 

SDarrowMichael Rembis, PhD  
Assistant Professor, History
Director, Center for Disability Studies
marembis@buffalo.edu

Research Interestes: 19thc. and 20th c. US, history of disability; history of eugenics; history of madness. Faculty Page

 

Despina Stratigakos, PhD 
Associate Professor
School of Architecture and Planning
Past Deputy Director, Gender Institute 2011-2012
dms58@buffalo.edu
829-5893

Research Interests: architectural history; gender and modernity in European cities. Faculty Page

 

mvargasMargarita Vargas, PhD 
Associate Professor
Dept. of Romance Languages and Literatures, College of Arts and Sciences
Past Co-Director, Gender Institute 2006-09
mvargas@buffalo.edu
645-0859

Research Interests: Mexican theater and film; Spanish-American theater; post-modernism; feminism. Faculty Page

 

LWilliamsLillian Williams, PhD  
Associate Professor
Dept. of African and African American Studies, College of Arts and Sciences
lsw4@buffalo.edu
716-645-2082

Research Interests: institutions, ethnicity, biography, and women's history; Young Men's and Young Women's Christian Associations and the National Urban League; Jewish club women; Mary Burnett Talbert, an early twentieth century reformer.  Faculty Page

Back to Top

AFFILIATES OF THE GENDER INSTITUTE

Affiliates of the Gender Institute are faculty and professional staff from across the university who conduct and support research and education on women and gender.  Affiliates contribute ideas and advice to help shape the institute's programs and priorities, and they also serve on many of the institute's committees.

 

Rachel Ablow
Assoc. Professor of English
rablow@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Dianne Avery
Professor of Law
lawavery@buffalo.edu         
Faculty Page

Laura Barnum
Senior Assistant VP for Academic Planning and Budget
lbarnum@buffalo.edu              

Ling Bian
Professor of Geography
lbian@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Mary Bisson
Professor of Biological Sciences
bisson@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Irus Braverman
Professor of Law, Geography
irusb@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page
Web Page

Susan Cahn
Professor of History
cahn@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

David R. Castillo
Professor and Chair of Romance Languages and Literatures
dc63@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Diane Christian
SUNY Distinguished Teaching Professor
Professor of English
engdc@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Julia Colyar
Asst. Professor of Educational Leadership and Policy
Graduate School of Education
jecolyar@buffalo.edu    
Faculty Page

Tim Dean
Professor of English
tjdean@buffalo.edu
Web Page

Greg Dimitriadis
Professor and Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
Department of Educational Leadership and Policy
Graduate School of Education
gjd3@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Sandra Firmin
Curator, UB Art Galleries
sfirmin@buffalo.edu
ubartgalleries.org

Christian Flaugh
Assoc. Professor of Romance Languages and Literatures    
cflaugh@buffalo.edu      
Faculty Page

Joseph Gardella
SUNY Distinguished Professor
John and Frances Larkin Professor of Chemistry
gardella@buffalo.edu     
Faculty Page

Laura Garofalo
Asst. Professor, Department of Architecture
lbg2@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Jennifer L. Gaynor
Assistant Professor of History
jlgaynor@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Judith Goldman
Asst. Professor of English
judithgo@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Donald Grinde
Professor of American Studies
Department of Transnational Studies
dgrinde@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Walter N. Hakala
Asst. Professor
Asian Studies Program and Department of English
walterha@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Graham Hammill
Professor and Chair of English
ghammill@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Dan Hess
Assoc. Professor of Urban and Regional Planning
School of Architecture
dbhess@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page  

Stacy Hubbard
Assoc. Professor of English
sch1@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Joyce Hwang, AIA
Assoc. Professor, UB School of Architecture and Planning
Ants of the Prairie
jh96@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page
Web Page

Jonathan Katz
Assoc. Professor of Visual Studies      
Director, Visual Studies Doctoral Program
jonathandavidkatz@gmail.com
Faculty Page

Karen L. King PhD
ISEP Program Manager
UB Department of Chemistry
klking2@buffalo.edu

Carolyn Korsmeyer
Professor of Philosophy
ckors@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Joyce Kosinski
Community Member, UB Alum
jakosinski@aol.com

Shiu-Ming Kuo , PhD
Assoc. Professor of Nutrition and Biochemistry
smkuo@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Jeanette Ludwig
Assoc. Professor of Romance Languages and Literatures
jmludwig@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Arabella Lyon
Professor of English
Director of the Center for Excellence in Writing
President of the SUNY Council on Writing
alyon@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Ruth Mack
Associate Professor of English
ruthmack@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Martha Malamud
Director of Graduate Studies, Professor of Classics
malamud@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Susan Mangold
Professor of Law
svm@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Carine Mardorossian
Professor of English
cmardoro@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Andrea Markelz
Professor of Physics
amarkelz@buffalo.edu   
Faculty Page

Lynn Mather
Professor of Law and Political Science
lmather@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Patricia Mazon
Assoc. Professor of History
mazon@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Martha McCluskey
Professor of Law
William J. Magavern Faculty Scholar
mcclusk@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Patrick McDevitt
Assoc. Professor of History
pfmcdevitt@gmail.com
Faculty Page

Chris Mele
Assoc. Professor of Sociology
cmele@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Myung Mi Kim
Professor of English
mmkim@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Christina Milletti
Assoc. Professor of English
milletti@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Athena Mutua
Professor of Law
Floyd H. & Hilda L. Hurst Faculty Scholar
admutua@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Kalliopi Nikolopoulou
Asst. Professor of Comparative Literature
Kn34@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Catherine Olsen
Professor Emeritus of Mathematics
clolsen@buffalo.edu

Libby Otto
Assoc. Professor of Visual Studies
Executive Director of the Humanities Institute
eotto@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Ewa Plonowska Ziarek
Julian Park Professor of Comparative Literature
epziarek@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Toni Pressley-Sanon
Asst. Professor of Transnational Studies
apressle@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Pavani Ram
Assoc. Professor of Social and Preventive Medicine
pkram@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Kate Rittenhouse-Olson
Professor of Biotechnical and Clinical Laboratory Sciences
Director of Biotechnology Program
krolson@acsu.buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Pam Rose
Instructional Support Technician, Health Sciences Library
Coordinator, Web Services and Library Promotion
pmrose@buffalo.edu

Teri Rueb
Professor of Media Study, Architecture
terirueb@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Claire S. Schen, PhD    
Assoc. Professor of History
cschen@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Randy Schiff
Assoc. Professor of English
rpschiff@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

David Schmid
Assoc. Professor of English
Schmid@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Ramon Soto-Crespo
Assoc. Professor of Transnational Studies
rs55@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Debra Street
Professor and Chair of Sociology
dastreet@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Joan Sussman
Assoc. Professor and Chair of Communicative Disorders and Sciences
jsussman@acsu.buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Jennifer Temple
Asst. Professor of Exercise and Nutrition Sciences
jltemple@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Gwynn Thomas
Asst. Professor of Transnational Studies
gmthomas@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Carrie Tirado Bramen
Assoc. Professor of English
bramen@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Suzanne Tomkins
Clinical Professor of Law
tomkins@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Mary Nell Trautner
Asst. Professor of Sociology
Trautner@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Susan Udin
Professor of Physiology
susan.udin@gmail.com
Faculty Pag

Stephanie Vander Wel
Asst. Professor of Music
Slv5@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Christine Varnado
Visiting Asst. Professor of Transnational Studies
cmvarnad@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Marion Werner
Asst. Professor of Geography
wernerm@buffalo.edu>
Faculty Page

Gail Willsky
Assoc. Professor of Biochemistry
gwillsky@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Victoria Wolcott
Assoc. Professor of History
vwwolcot@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Jennifer Zirnheld
Asst. Professor of Electrical Engineering
Director, Energy Systems Institute
zirnheld@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

 

Back to Top