DIRECTORS

kwinterKari J. Winter, PhD
Director of the Gender Institute
Professor of Transnational Studies
College of Arts and Sciences
kwinter2@buffalo.edu
716-645-0827

Research Interests: American literature and history; slavery and resistance in the Atlantic World; gender, race, and class. Faculty Page
 

 

kwinterGlenna Bett, PhD   
Deputy Director of the Gender Institute
Vice Chair for Research in Obstetrics and Gynecology
Physiology and Biophysics
bett@buffalo.edu
716-829-2603

Research Interests: Bioinformatics; Ion channel kinetics and structure; Molecular and Cellular Biology. Faculty Page
 

 

 

Staff

Becky Burke
Gender Institute Staff Assistant
207 UB Commons
rburke2@buffalo.edu
716-645-5200

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

kwinterAubrey Jones Kubiak
Gender Institute Graduate Assistant
PhD Candidate, Romance Languages and Literatures
adjones@buffalo.edu
716-645-5200

Research Interests: Women in French and Québécois literature; transatlantic and New World francophone literature; the body and disability; feminism and gender studies. Student Page


EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

SBCSharmistha Bagchi-Sen, PhD  
Professor
Dept. of Geography, College of Arts and Sciences
Past Co-Director, Gender Institute 2009-10
geosbs@buffalo.edu
716-645-0478


Research Interests: Urban and Regional Analysis; International Business: Foreign Direct Investment; High Technology and Regional Innovation; Biotechnology and Pharmaceutical Sectors; Labor and Societal Impacts of Information Technology; Labor Market and the Aging Workforce. Faculty Page

 

JoanBazierJoan S. Baizer, PhD  
Associate Professor
Dept. of Physiology, School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences
Baizer@buffalo.edu
716-829-3096

Research Interests: the comparative neuroanatomy of the brain with a focus on the brainstem and cerebellum; the evolution of the brain underlying uniquely human cognitive and motor skills; individual differences in brain structure and function, including differences related to gender. Faculty Page


LingBianLaina Y. Bay-Cheng, PhD 
Associate Professor
School of Social Work
lb35@buffalo.edu
716-645-1225

Research Interests: the construction of adolescent sexuality; the cultivation of young women's sexual subjectivity, gendered power; youth empowerment; feminist theories and methods. Faculty Page

 


BBonoBarbara Bono, PhD  
Associate Professor
Dept. of English, College of Arts and Sciences
Past Co-Director, Gender Institute 2003-06
bbono@buffalo.edu
716-645-0713

Research Interests: Early Modern British literature, especially Sidney, Spenser, and the dramatic literature of Shakespeare and his contemporaries; feminist and cultural materialist theory and history. Faculty Page

 

GBursteinGale R. Burstein, MD
Erie County Health Commissioner   
Clinical Professor
Dept. of Pediatrics, School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences;
gburstein@upa.chob.edu
716-878-7015

Research Interests: Adolescent Medicine - Pediatrics; providing adolescents with confidential sexual health services; health policy at the state and national level. Faculty Page

 

SDarrowSherri L. Darrow, PhD  
Director
Wellness Education Services, Student Affairs
darrow@buffalo.edu
716-645-6936

Research Interestes: chronic disease epidemiology; health promotion related to alcohol, tobacco and other drugs, sexual violence prevention, nutrition, stress management and outreach to underserved groups including LGBTQ students, veterans and international students. Faculty Page


RDziakRosemary Dziak, PhD  
Professor
Dept. of Oral Biology, School of Dental Medicine
Past Director, Gender Institute  2005-11
rdziak@buffalo.edu
716-829-3827

Research Interests:  Bone cell physiology; isolation and culturing of human osteoblastic cells; signal transduction mechanisms related to proliferation and differentiation of bone cells; tissue engineering; design of new materials for bone regeneration. Faculty Page

 

Phyllis Floro  
Associate Director
Student Life, Intercultural & Diversity Center and
Center for Student Leadership & Community Engagement
floro@buffalo.edu
716-645-2731

Phyllis was born and raised in Niagara Falls, NY and earned her Bachelor Degree in Communication from the University at Buffalo in 2002, as well as her Master’s in Higher Education Administration in 2005.    In 1999, she began her professional career at UB with six years in the Student Life Office as Student Unions Coordinator followed by four years in New Student Programs as Assistant Director of Orientation and First Year/Transfer Student Programs.  Since February of 2009, Phyllis has been the Associate Director of the Student – Intercultural & Diversity Center.  In August of 2012, Phyllis’ administrative duties Lifewere expanded when she was appointed to be the Associate Director for Student Life’s Center for Student Leadership & Community Engagement, as well as the Intercultural & Diversity Center.

 

MMalamudMartha Malamud, PhD  
Professor
Dept. of Classics, College of Arts and Sciences
malamud@buffalo.edu
716-645-0459

Research Interests:  Imperial Latin Literature; Roman Epic; Late Antique Literature; Reception of Classical Literature. Current Research Projects: “Later Roman Medea”, A. J. Boyle ed. The Roman Medea, Aureal Publications; “Simile and Similitude” The Brill Companion to Statius, edited Carole Newlands and William Dominik.  Faculty Page

 

lmanganLaura Mangan 
Coordinator 
Civic Engagement & Public Policy
A UB 2020 Academic and Strategic Strength
lmangan@buffalo.edu
716-645-5376

Laura Mangan has been facilitating, administering, publishing, and promoting interdisciplinary research in areas of law and social justice since the 1980s.  After studying African history at the University of Sussex, she served as founding managing editor of the South African Journal on Human Rights and managing editor of Law & Policy. She worked in South Africa for seven years on issues of human rights and public impact litigation as Assistant Director of the Centre for Applied Legal Studies, University of the Witwatersrand School of Law.   After moving to Buffalo, she became founding staff member of the Buffalo Human Rights Center and Canada-US Legal Studies Centre in UB's Law School, then Associate Director of UB's Baldy Center for Law and Social Policy.  She currently coordinates UB's Civic Engagement and Public Policy research initiative (CEPP), which supports local to global community-based research by UB faculty on issues of social justice and equity.  website

 

IMarcusIsabel Marcus, JD, PhD  
Professor
School of Law
Founding Co-Director, Gender Institute  1997-2003
imarcus@buffalo.edu
716-645-2108

Dr. Marcus, Professor of Law and Director of International and Graduate Programs at the UB Law School, was one of the founders of the Institute for Research and Education on Women and Gender. Her longstanding research interests are in the areas of family law, domestic violence, international women's human rights, and, currently a comparative analysis of the implementation of law regarding domestic violence in Eastern Europe and the former Soviet Union. Faculty Page

 

IMarcusLorraine Oak, PhD  
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Geography
Associate Dean for Research Administration
Chair, Canadian-American Studies Committee
loak@buffalo.edu
716-645-2711

Dr. Oak, Associate Dean for Research Administration and Adjunct Assistant Professor of Geography, is also the Chair of the Canadian-American Studies Committee. With degrees from the University of Alberta and Macquarie University in Sydney, Australia, Dr. Oak is an international scholar with a longstanding commitment to feminism, the environment, and equal rights, both through her service to the Gender Institute as well as the University at large. Faculty Page

 

SDarrowMichael Rembis, PhD  
Assistant Professor, History
Director, Center for Disability Studies
marembis@buffalo.edu

Research Interestes: 19thc. and 20th c. US, history of disability; history of eugenics; history of madness. Faculty Page

 

Despina Stratigakos, PhD 
Associate Professor
School of Architecture and Planning
Past Deputy Director, Gender Institute 2011-2012
dms58@buffalo.edu
829-5893

Research Interests: architectural history; gender and modernity in European cities. Faculty Page

mvargasMargarita Vargas, PhD 
Associate Professor
Dept. of Romance Languages and Literatures, College of Arts and Sciences
Past Co-Director, Gender Institute 2006-09
mvargas@buffalo.edu
645-0859

Research Interests: Mexican theater and film; Spanish-American theater; post-modernism; feminism. Faculty Page

 

LWilliamsLillian Williams, PhD  
Associate Professor
Dept. of African and African American Studies, College of Arts and Sciences
lsw4@buffalo.edu
716-645-2082

Research Interests: institutions, ethnicity, biography, and women's history; Young Men's and Young Women's Christian Associations and the National Urban League; Jewish club women; Mary Burnett Talbert, an early twentieth century reformer.  Faculty Page

Back to Top

AFFILIATES OF THE GENDER INSTITUTE

Affiliates of the Gender Institute are faculty and professional staff from across the university who conduct and support research and education on women and gender.  Affiliates contribute ideas and advice to help shape the institute's programs and priorities, and they also serve on many of the institute's committees.

 

Rachel Ablow
English
rablow@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Dianne Avery
Law
lawavery@buffalo.edu         
Faculty Page

Laura Barnum
Senior Assistant VP for Academic Planning and Budget
lbarnum@buffalo.edu              

Ling Bian
Geography
lbian@buffalo.edu

Mary Bisson
Biological Science
bisson@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Irus Braverman
Law, Geography
irusb@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page
Web Page

Julia Colyar
Graduate School of Education
jecolyar@buffalo.edu    
Faculty Page

Tim Dean
tjdean@buffalo.edu
English
Web Page

Sandra Firmin
sfirmin@buffalo.edu
UB Art Galleries
ubartgalleries.org

Christian Flaugh
Romance Languages and Literature    
cflaugh@buffalo.edu      
Faculty Page

Joseph Gardella
Chemistry
gardella@buffalo.edu     
Faculty Page

Dan Hess
Urban and Regional Planning
dbhess@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page
        
Jonathan Katz
Visual Studies      
jonathandavidkatz@gmail.com
Faculty Page

Joyce Kosinski
Community Member, UB Alum
jakosinski@aol.com

Jeanette Ludwig
Romance Languages and Literatures
jmludwig@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Shiu-Ming Kuo , PhD
Nutrition and Biochemistry
smkuo@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Susan Mangold
Law
svm@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Carine Mardorossian
English
cmardoro@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Andrea Markelz
Physics
amarkelz@buffalo.edu   
Faculty Page

Lynn Mather
Law and Political Science
lmather@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Martha McCluskey
Law
mcclusk@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Chris Mele
Sociology
cmele@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Athena Mutua
School of Law
admutua@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Kalliopi Nikolopoulou
Comparative Literature
Kn34@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Catherine Olsen
Mathematics
clolsen@buffalo.edu

Toni Pressley-Sanon
Transnational Studies
apressle@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Pavani Ram
Social and Preventive Medicine
pkram@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Kate Rittenhouse-Olson
Clinical Laboratory Sciences
krolson@acsu.buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Pam Rose
Health Sciences Library
pmrose@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Teri Rueb
Media Study, Architecture
terirueb@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Claire S. Schen, PhD    
History
cschen@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Randy Schiff
English
rpschiff@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

David Schmid
English
Schmid@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Debra Street
Sociology
dastreet@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Joan Sussman
Communication Disorders and Sciences
jsussman@acsu.buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Jennifer Temple
Exercise Nutrition Sciences
jltemple@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Gwynn Thomas
Global Gender Studies, Transnational Division
gmthomas@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Suzanne Tomkins
School of Law
tomkins@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Mary Nell Trautner
Sociology
Trautner@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Stephanie Vander Wel
Music History
Slv5@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Christine Varnado
Transnational Studies
cmvarnad@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Gail Willsky, PhD
Biochemistry
gwillsky@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Victoria Wolcott
History
vwwolcot@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Ewa Plonowska Ziarek
Comparative Literature
epziarek@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

Jennifer Zirnheld
Electrical Engineering
Director, Energy Systems Institute
zirnheld@buffalo.edu
Faculty Page

 

Back to Top